Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now óoró

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Honey Bun

Post Thanks / Like

Default Singer Walking Foot Problem

Help! I am a quilting newbie so Iím not sure if I have a crummy walking foot or this is just user error so I am hoping someone can give me some guidance. I have a Singer 4452 and the appropriate Singer walking foot. The problem: when quilting a sandwich with the walking foot, (cotton top and backing with cotton batting) the top fabric is pushed forward creating puckers and completely knocking everything out of wack. The foot is on correctly with the bar over the right needle screw and the attachment screw good and tight. I have tried lowering the presser foot tension and lengthening my stitches to no avail but I donít know what else to try. Any suggestions or ideas on what I may be doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Sally

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Singer Walking Foot Problem

It sounds like you have already tried the most probable solution of lowering the presser foot tension and lengthening the stitches. What basting method did you use? If pin basted, maybe pin closer together. If you used a temporary adhesive spray for a baste did you heat set the adhesive? Try positioning your hands around the walking foot in a hoop to help take some of the weight of the walking foot.

Are the puckers really bad (say more than 1/8 of an inch) or just annoying ( probably won't show are you wash and dry the quilt)?
    Stash Treasure Acquisitions Beyond Life Expectancy. My stash keeps me STABLE, oh yeah.... and dark chocolate.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

I looked at some YouTube videos and didn't see any trouble shooting ones in particular, but maybe if you watched a few you might spot a missed set up somewhere. My machine had free classes at the dealer. If you did buy from one I would take it back for a free hands on.

Trouble shooting tips and Q&A