Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy New to Quilting and Hello from North Carolina

Hello and good morning,

I’m new to quilting and so excited to have found this forum. I have only made one sampler quilt (with an instructor) that turned out “pretty good.”

I thought, I would start another quilt (on my own) and it’s a mess! I made 8” squares from triangles and didn’t cut correctly and now they’re not all the same size. I realized this, once I started to sew them together and they didn’t line up. Long story, short… I showed them to my instructor; she told me they were all wrong and sent me home to rip them all apart.

2. Thanks Granny Fran, SuzanneOrleansOntario thanked for this post
    9 Patch Princess

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: New to Quilting and Hello from North Carolina

Welcome from a long-rime sewist, but another relatively new quilter. There's alot of good quilting tutorials here, along with folks who will give advice. I'm happy to hear others take the plunge and learning to quilt.

As far a cutting the "wrong" sizes, and ended up with a different sized block, don't underestimate changing up the design, and adding a bit of sashing between blocks. As long as your blocks are square, you can create a whole new look! Adventure!

4. Thanks pveling, DeniseSm, SuzanneOrleansOntario thanked for this post
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the forum from Canada. I'm certain that you will enjoy your quilting journey with every new block made, and every stitch ripped out. Jack the Ripper is a stern teacher.

Enjoy life and do what makes you happy. Everything else will follow.

Every day I try to do one thing that challenges my comfort zone.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like