• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chaswp54
    Honey Bun
    • Sep 2019

Using different color threads

Hello,
    I am really really new at quilting. Really really new. I made one for my grandson a few years ago for his first bday and am making 2 more for the other 2 grandbabies for their 1st bdays coming up.

This time around I think I learned from previous mistakes and at least the tops have seemed to turn out pretty good. I am about to put the top, basting and bottom pieces together and sew. At this point I'm a "stitch in the ditch" kind of guy.

My question is....
    My tops are the usual baby type prints with nice colors. The bottoms will be predominately yellow on one and pink on the other and I will be machined stitching them together. Can you use two different threads, i.e. one that matches the bottom and one that sort of blends in with the top? Put one color on the bobbin and the other color for the needle?

Thanks for any advice on this.
  • cindirae
    Binding Belle
    • Oct 2013

Re: Using different color threads

You absolutely can use two different colors. Go for it!
    Tenacity: The quality or fact of being very determined; determination.

Comment

• DeniseSm
      Missouri Star
      • Nov 2013

Yes you can. Please be aware that no matter how carefully you set the tension occasionally the bottom thread will poke up to the top. Only you will notice. No one else will see the pop ups. Honest. Don't let it drive you crazy.
      Stash Treasure Acquisitions Beyond Life Expectancy. My stash keeps me STABLE, oh yeah.... and dark chocolate.

Comment

• chaswp54
        Honey Bun
        • Sep 2019

Thanks all. I am aware that one may poke through. Really do appreciate the replies!

Comment

• Hulamoon
          Missouri Star
          • Jul 2012

Now might be the time to play around with some variegated thread. They have such a great selection these days. Don't let me throw you off though
          🌺 Lorie

Comment

• DeniseSm
            Missouri Star