Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    4 Patch Pro

Post Thanks / Like

Default Garment Sewing Advice for a Beginner

I'm an intermediate-level quilter but have no experience with any other kind of machine sewing. I'd like to try my hand at some garments and was hoping general sewists might have advice. As a tall (nearly 6') woman it's often hard for me to find clothes that fit well and are affordable, so I have added incentive to attempt to make my own clothing.

It's overwhelming to try to find a pattern by browsing the massive books at a sewing shop! I'd like to try some easy items that don't have complicated or advanced techniques, although I would like to learn new skills with each new project.

Can anyone recommend what types of garments and/or specific pattern brands/styles might be good for an absolute beginner? I do want to make adult clothing, not kids' items, if that makes any difference.

I appreciate any guidance.

Designer Diva

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Garment Sewing Advice for a Beginner