I may be revamping my pattern storage. Your opinions needed.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RonieM
    Fabric Fanatic
    • Apr 2019

I may be revamping my pattern storage. Your opinions needed.

I've been quilting for about 24 years and over the course of time I have accumulated many, many patterns. About 17 years ago, I went to the binder method for storing my patterns. Putting the pattern in the sheet protector and then putting the sheet protector in the appropriate binder. I probably have about 20+ binders.

About every 2 years or so, I would go through each binder and purge any patterns that no longer appealed to me.

Last night I was thinking about the storage method that I currently use and if there was a way to improve upon it. Something I am considering is scanning in each of the patterns that I want to keep and storing them digitally. I would then give away or recycle the hard copies.

I could then just bring up the pattern digitally and work off the electronic device, or if I really felt I needed a hard copy I could print it out. Yes, I would have a back-up in case my device crashes.

Has anyone done this? How did it work for you? Are you regretting your decision?

TIA for your reply.
  • jjkaiser
    Missouri Star
    • Oct 2013

Re: I may be revamping my pattern storage. Your opinions needed.