Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now óoró

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Rotary Pro

Post Thanks / Like

Default Canning recipes??

I just started getting into canning. Iíve had a vegetable garden for years, and always supplied the neighborhood with veggies. I still give away veggies, but Iím now canning. Does anyone have any tried/true sauce, peaches or apple recipes for canning? Also, whatís your feel on citric acid/lemon juice? Thanks in advance.

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Canning recipes??

It's always exciting for me to see that someone is trying their hand at canning. I hope you'll forgive me for hopping up onto my soap box. I am in no way trying to discourage you. I've been canning for 35 years, gifting a lot of what I make & entering items in our state fair.

Please don't go looking on the internet for help on this. I have been horrified to see recipes where someone doesn't bother to water bath the jellies, shakes the jars or turns them upside down. Killing the bacteria (water bath), proper head space in the jar, cleaning the jar before putting on the lid and leaving the jars upright & not touching them for 24 hours to get a good seal is as important as cleanliness of work space.

There should be an Agricultural Extension office in your town. The homemaker can help you with making sure you have the correct equipment & instruct you on how to can items so that you don't make people sick or kill someone (botulism). She will also direct you to a website with recipes that are safe.

Although I've been canning for a looonnnggg time I keep up with the changes since I give away a lot of jams, jellies & pickles.

Good luck & have fun on your adventure.

3. Thanks SuzanneOrleansOntario, Midge, kimsophia thanked for this post
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like