• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • g8dhorse7
    The Guild President
    • Dec 2012

Serger

I decided I NEED a serger. I bought one in the 90s when I was making clothes for my daughter and I never opened the box because as soon as it arrived she decided home made clothes weren't cool any more. Grrrrr! So I returned it.

Now, I would like to start making refashions. Skirts, shirts, dresses, etc. I may be using fabrics that have stretch, denim, cotton blends, etc. And serger may help with some of the bags I make.

So, if you have a serger, please tell me what brand and what you like/dislike about it. I'm a newbie with sergers so the one I buy needs to be newbie friendly.

Thanks for your assistance!
  • SuzanneOrleansOntario
    Missouri Star
    • Aug 2015

Re: Serger

I have had my White serger since the 1990s. Luckily, my kids wanted me to make them cool clothes. I could have started a clothing business but had no interest. White is made by Husquarvana and I still have it. A real workhorse which I probably would have forever. I do keep it clean, and service every 8-10 year, but not necessary as I was taught how to maintain it.

There are many good sergers on the market made by Husquarvana, Bernina and Janone. But if I HAD to buy one, I would go with Babylock, and the self-threading air driven feature. I think they are pricey but you might do a lot more if it's easy to thread.

Feature to look for - ability to do 2,3, 4 threads. Easy clear path to re-thread. Ability to drop the cutter, for regular sewing.

I think the important part is to buy where you can get get service or get intro lessons. These are very handy when you want to use it to full capacity. Have fun.
    Last edited by SuzanneOrleansOntario; May 21, 2018, 07:31 AM.
    Enjoy life and do what makes you happy. Everything else will follow.

Comment

• cv quilter
      Missouri Star
      • Feb 2015