Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Applique question.....

I have been making quilts since 1980 but only occasionally. I used to live in an urban area and have access to quilt shops to find the newest products. have just recently retired and am making more quilts. I now do not have access to information about the best products. I am looking for recommendations regarding applique. Fusible applique? Those raw edges really make me paranoid. The quilt I am planning to make will get washed frequently. Will it be okay to use raw edge fusible applique and then do a blanket stitch around each piece. What is the best, most reliable fusible web on the market today. I live in a rural area, away from quilt shops and their expertise so I am relying on you all to help me pick the best product/ method.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Applique question.....

I use Heat and Bond Feather weight. I won't be the only answer though of course. lol

Welcome to the forum! Where do you live?

Lorie

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

I also use Heat and Bond and have had no problems.
    Blessed are the children of the piecemakers for they shall inherit the quilts!

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Wish I could help you but alas I am applique challenged, BUT I did want to welcome you to the forum!.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

If your applique is going to be washed frequently then yes you will want to sew down the edge of the raw edge applique. A button stitch is fine or make it even easier on yourself by top stitching 1/8" inside the edge of the pieces.