Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Bargello Squaring

Hi all,

I'm having a devil of a time trying to figure out the best way to square up a king-size Bargello before putting on a border. I'm a beginner with quilting. I took great pains not to sew my strips in the same direction, but to alternate. I'm thinking now I might have done better to also use an even-feed foot. When sewing the cross-cut strips, I did sometimes have trouble keeping things from stretching/shifting.

All told, the sides of the quilt are roughly the same length, but there's a bit of a trapezoidal skew to the top...and one cend is more skewed than the opposite end.

My questions is this...does it ever work to pull or tug at the fabric to square it up better before trimming, or is it better to recognize that the fabric has skewed during assembly, and instead square it up using the the long seams as a guide first, then cross-cutting the other two sides to create a square top. I hope my drawing clears up what I mean.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	QuiltDiagram.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	81.7 KB 
ID:	148387

2. Thanks grammaterry thanked for this post
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Bargello Squaring

The process of getting your skewed quilt square again is called "blocking". Goggle how to block your quilt. There are many articles and you tube videos.

Good luck and happy quilting.
    Stash Treasure Acquisitions Beyond Life Expectancy. My stash keeps me STABLE, oh yeah.... and dark chocolate.

4. Thanks grammaterry thanked for this post
    Designer Diva

Post Thanks / Like