Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

UN-Biased

Post Thanks / Like

Default Best metallic thread for quilting

Dear fellow quilters,

The yearly Christmas projects have started again in this house. As I dont believe in expensive gifts i make all the Christmas presents myself varying from knitting Aran jumpers and socks (after all this is Ireland) to making lap quilts or throws. Its nice for my friends and family to know i have made an effort for them.
    I am about to start on a christmas throw in white/iceblue and i want to quilt silvery ice flakes on it. Can you advise me on the best quality metallic thread for quilting that is also suitable for free motion (if i feel brave enough).

Love
    Marijke

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Best metallic thread for quilting

I have no experience with metallic threads, but Medeira makes beautiful, quality threads. I would check them out.
    Bernina 770QE, Bernina 1120, Bernina Nova 900, BabyLock Ovation, Bernina Q24 Long arm

Applique Angel

Post Thanks / Like

Don't know about the thread but I do know you need a metallic needle.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

I didn't have much luck with Glide gold metallic on my Baby Lock Tiara LA. Later, I was told one needed to use a larger needle, and should use a non-metallic thread in the bobbin--maybe a gold 50 wt. cotton thread. I really don't have much experience with metallic thread. You don't mention whether you're using your DSM or a LA.

UN-Biased

Post Thanks / Like

i use a Janome 1600QC which is semi professional

9 Patch Princess

Post Thanks / Like

I've had good luck on garments with Sulky's metallics and Sliver thread. They can be a little touchy. I have to drop my top tension way down on my Bernina, but Bernina's seem to have the tension set pretty tight so you might not have that problem. Also, with Sliver you have to a vertical spool or it will twist and break. Good luck!
    Patrice S