• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tkellyd
    Beginning Stitcher
    • Oct 2016

Pucker up!!

Hello all:

I must say that this is the first time that my quilt top has puckered. It's just one medium sized, unfinished puckery mess. Any help on working it out would be appreciated.

Here's the background:

This is an inspired design. I have done things with this quilt that I had no experience with (fusible fabric, decorative stitching, many borders . . . I guess I just threw it all in there!) The star is fused and edges sewn. The first seminole block I had a dickens of a time with trying to get them all to line up around the star. It didn't work and I ended up hand sewing them (did I mention I have no experience with hand stitching?) All of the borders are sewn around each other.
    Puckery Quilt Top.jpg

Can you tell me what I've done wrong and how to fix it? Should I take out the star and start over? Remove the borders? Any help would be appreciated.

Best,

- T
  • jjkaiser
    Missouri Star
    • Oct 2013

Re: Pucker up!!

I love this and I can sure identify with the struggles you had getting your border patterns to fit your space without chopping any part of your design off. That has happened to me and you got it all to fit around your center block beautifully, I'm not sure you could get that lucky if you take it all apart.

Idk what caused the puckering. If it was me I would hand quilt the whole thing, being careful to quilt it in sections, first the right half, then the left. I think quilting will make the puckering much less noticeable or have it disappear altogether. I am a terrible machine quilter, so someone else will have to give you advice about that. I think it is going to be gorgeous when you are all done! Good luck.
    Jocelyn
    South Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Comment

• Rhonda K
      Missouri Star
      • Jan 2017