Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Fabric Fanatic

Post Thanks / Like

Default Please help! Possible qult top tragedy due to spray basting.

Hi everyone! My name is Erin and I am totally new to quilting. So far I've I've only made three baby quilts and two throws. I'm learning everything as I go, mostly on YouTube. I bought some basting spray just to see how that would work and that's what I've been using and loving it. The problem is, I was under the impression it was water-soluble and would come out in the wash, but it's not. A throw I made for my sister for Christmas looks totally bizarre after washing - almost as if it had been inflated and had the air sucked out of it. Weird wrinkles in the fabric, and lumps that weren't there before. The fabric is still clinging big time to the batting and I can feel how stuck it still is when I try to pull the layers apart (quilted into squares). I have now washed it four times in various temperatures and nothing is helping. It's Dritz brand which I am now seeing is not water soluble, but is supposed to dry out and lose tackiness over time. My question is: how much time? Should I just leave it alone for like a week and then wash it yet again? I did throw it in the wash within 48 hours of basting/finish it. The can said nothing about waiting. Anyway, I have another throw and a baby qulit with the same issue. I may cry if I have to toss them all. Please help! Thanks in advance.

Designer Diva

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Please help! Possible qult top tragedy due to spray basting.