Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Friction pens

Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Friction pens

I am a newbie quilter and have discovered the advantage of using a friction pen to mark my fabric. However, I have found that on some darker fabrics, when the pen mark is removed with the iron it also removes the color from the fabric leaving a white line. It is faint but I can see it. Am I doing something wrong. I so want this to work because it is so easy.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Friction pens

Welcome to the forum.

So far I have only used the frixon pens on a light gray fabric and I'm embroidering over the lettering so I don't have much experience with the pens yet. But give it a little time and others will give their expertise. Sometimes the weekends are a little slower on the forum. You can also try the search feature on the forum and that should bring up helpful info.
    "I'm putting together a list of 100 reasons why I am NOT relentless!" - Sue Heck, The Middle

Leonard: For God's sake, Sheldon, do I have to hold up a sarcasm sign every time I open my mouth?
    Sheldon (intrigued): You have a sarcasm sign?

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Some folks have reported that the pen leaves a light spot. They also report that if the cloth gets cold, the marks reappear!

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

There is plenty of info. on line about the pros & cons of Frixion pens. Just google it. I frequently use them. One person on this forum mentioned they still could see the lines on batik fabrics. You could also do a search of the forum comments.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like