Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Block Queen

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to FNQ question

I just returned from a beginner course on FMQ and would like a few opinions.

Do you mark your quilt for FMQ before or after you sandwich it. This course said to mark before, but I was a bit concerned about smearing your markings.

Any and all opinions greatly appreciated.

Debbie

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: New to FNQ question

I am self taught at FMQ so not an expert but I don't mark. I do it free hand. I thought that was why it was free motion.

3. Thanks debbie1952 thanked for this post
    Applique Angel

Post Thanks / Like

I don't free motion, but I think you would mark before
    Sandwiching . Trying to mark after sandwiching would
    make it hard to mark on batting.
    I thought free motion was just that, free motion,
    No marking?

Block Queen

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the replies so far, sorry I put down FNQ, guess I was in a hurry. This course spoke lots about designs that were very specific, in that it was tress, birds, boots etc, drawn around the borders. Yes I had learnt to just go for it in a previous class. In this class the slogan was, "if you can draw it you can quilt it." Just one of man many ways to quilt I guess.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by grammaterry View Post
    I am self taught at FMQ so not an expert but I don't mark. I do it free hand. I thought that was why it was free motion.
    Some people do mark for free motion quilting. This is particularly with complex designs, feathers, feather circles, and such. You don't need to mark for a meander, stipple, or many of the swirl designs.