Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Frustrated new quilter

I'll preface this by saying I'm definitely not new to sewing. I've been sewing as long as I can remember, and I've made everything from simple clothing and curtains to a majorette costume, a suit for my husband, and my wedding dress. But it seems like quilting intimidates me, and I always run into some kind of problem when I attempt something that should be easy.

I had a jelly roll that I didn't know what to do with - bought it when I started learning to quilt a couple of years ago just because I liked the colors. I watched the tutorial on the crosswalk quilt and Jenny made it look so easy. So I sewed all my jelly roll strips together, alternating the direction I sewed them so they wouldn't bow...and a couple of them still bowed! So...if I take them apart and sew them together again, are they useable, or will they still be bowed? What did I do wrong that they bowed even though I alternated the direction I sewed them together?

I've been learning to quilt for two or three years now, and I don't have any finished projects because I always seem to run into something like this and it's a roadblock for me. Now I'm afraid to try anything because I don't want to mess it up and waste the time and money. I've taken classes at my LQS but it's just basic instruction with a little sewing, but most of it is to be done on your own at home. They make it seem so easy, but when I get home and try it, it's not so easy to me.

I know I'm rambling, but as I said, I'm frustrated. I am determined to make this work and quit creating more UFO's, so if you have any advice on how to keep the jelly roll strips from bowing, I will be very appreciative. If you've stuck with me this far...thank you!!

Cokie

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Frustrated new quilter