Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Honey Bun

Post Thanks / Like

Default Quilting newbie question about backing.

I'm new to quilting and I have used backing fabric for all my quilts. But is that necessary? Is it only called backing cause of the measurement of the fabric? I have noticed a lack of modern backing fabric and it's hard to find a cute fun modern backing for my quilts. Is there a her way around it?

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Quilting newbie question about backing.

Are you asking if you can use anything else for backing? Yes you can use the same things you use for your piecings if you like those fabrics.

Women are Angels.
    When someone
    break's our wings
    we will continue to
    fly...usually on a
    broomstick.
    We're flexible like that.
    - embroitique

Applique Angel

Post Thanks / Like

No, you absolutely don't HAVE to use wide backing fabric. There are definitely advantages to being able to back your quilt from one piece of fabric, but you can also piece your own backing. Do a google search for piece quilt backs and you'll see what I mean. You can use yardage, leftover fabric from the quilt top, leftover/orphan blocks, muslin, fat quarters - whatever it takes to get to a size large enough to back your quilt. Hopefully others on the forum will come along with links to youtube or craftsy videos that can give you more information.
    Slainte!

Liz

Rotary Pro

Post Thanks / Like

I understand your dilemma....for some reason I like extra wide fabrics for quilts I make because I don't want seams. Then the problem lies, the lack of fun fabrics. For table runners and such, I use fun fabrics, but usually I buy a big enough pieces of fabric, to use it on the back of it. This doesn't help, but I get your problem...

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like