Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pre-washing

Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Pre-washing

Hello!

I'm relatively new to quilting and will be soon creating my first quilt using pre cuts (jelly roll and charm pack). Most places I read advise not to pre-wash precuts, but I was wondering about the fabric I'll be using for the backing and to create my binding strips. I've always been so used to pre washing any fabric I've used, but I'm feeling if I wash the backing and binding fabrics everything will shrink at a different rate and make for a bubbly quilt that doesn't lie flat. The fabrics are all bright blues and reds (the Airmail fabric collection), so I've also got some worries about bleeding colours!

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Pre-washing

Don't do it!

I never pre wash anything. I've made something like 50 quilts... just use a color catcher in wash the first time you wash the quilt

Welcome to the forum
    "Only God is perfect, my quilts don't have to be!"

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

*maybe two or three color catchers if it's a larger quilt
    "Only God is perfect, my quilts don't have to be!"

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

The color catchers really work!

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

It's an age old topic. There is a lot of outdated information out there, and modern dyes generally do not bleed. I've read to set dyes with vinegar, then not to bother because that only worked on the older dyes. Fabric manufacturers today are not expecting you to prewash these days.

I'm a fabric washer for many reasons, but as I've taken up quilting I've heeded advice like you've gotten here. And that is just to buy fabric and start cutting and sewing. People even have all kinds of tricks for fixing it after a finished quilt has bled. Just get going and have fun