Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Quarter inch questions

Hi, I am new to sewing and got a Brothers XL 3750 for my birthday. I have done some little bags and did a top for a small quilt that I put together but I had a little problem with my 1/4 in. When I start its ok then it pulls away form the inside feed dogs and when I making my blocks the seam are not straight (have to move the block to keep it form sewing off the fabric). The foot I have is a 1/4 in but its not like the one I see in the youtube video that Missouri star makes. I have been looking for one on amazon but I have been have a little of a hard time finding it. Some helpful tips would be awesome.

Applique Angel

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Quarter inch questions

Welcome to the forum.

I have a similar problem with my elderly Bernina. I have always had to angle the block about 10 degrees to get a result which is a staight 1/4". I have adapted over the years, and now have trouble using a 'normal' machine. I would be interested to see what advice you receive.

Again - welcome!

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Hi welcome to the forum!

I had the same problem. The presser foot wasn't grabbing the fabric. I have this foot. I have a Babylock,but it's the same foot for a Brother. It solved so many of my problems!

1/4" Foot w/ Guide, Snap On #XC6800251: Sewing Parts Online

I should of said the old foot wasn't covering the fabric and the dogs weren't catching it.
    Last edited by Hulamoon; October 31st, 2015 at 06:37 PM.

Lorie

4. Thanks Ghoulia thanked for this post
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Hulamoon View Post
    Hi welcome to the forum!

I had the same problem. The presser foot wasn't grabbing the fabric. I have this foot. I have a Babylock,but it's the same foot for a Brother. It solved so many of my problems!