Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Beginning Stitcher

Post Thanks / Like

Cool I am a new member to the MSQC!

Hi, my name is Carol M. and I am a new member to the quilting community...and am thrilled to be here! I have always been fairly crafty, and have knitted, crocheted, cross-stitched, counted cross-stitched, sewn(actually made a couple of dresses, in my late teens, early 20's...well, you get it, I hope. I am a registered nurse and mother of 4 grown girls. My only boy is my husband haha! I am even a proud grandmother of 3, my last granddaughter being born only a few weeks ago! My girls have always called me "a good cooker", so I will add that to my repertoire, quickly . Anyways, I guess I am trying to "re-invent" myself, and have chosen quilting as my new project. Seeing all the beautiful fabrics out there today, really excites me. However, here's my big dilemma...I found myself disabled at the age of appx. 56, having had lung surgery for lung cancer, and suffering a stroke 2 weeks after the operation. I lost the use of my entire left side and ended up with chronic nerve pain(the whole left side). I was released from rehab early, to see our oldest daughter get married and walk down the aisle, with my husband. And yes, I walked down the aisle, as I refused to be in a wheelchair and have that in her pictures(although my daughter really didn't mind). I guess my own stubbornness kicked in there. I've had 2 more lung surgeries since , and 3 spinal surgeries, for pain relief, since the stroke. I have regained a lot of my left leg function, but still don't have any of my left hand function. I recently was able to sew a yo-yo owl, for our new grand-baby, all hand made, which made me very happy! I tell you all of this, so you can tell where I'm coming from, not to feel sorry for me . I just feel that I must create something..