Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default Uneven quilt top

So I am new. Let's just remember that this is my very first project...

I did the jelly roll race. Added a 1.5 inch stop border. And a 6 inch second border.

Now I just measured my quilt so I could start to figure out the backing size needed. My top and bottom are measuring about 63" and 65". My sides are about 76" and 78 ".

I'm off two inches!

What now? Do I need to take it all apart and try again? Or just quilt it and then square it up? I'm so lost. And I thought I was doing so well

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Uneven quilt top

When I do a quilt I'm usually a 20 inch difference between the length and width, seams like your doing fine

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

I do wierd things like block it like a wet sweater. Then iron it.. Probably not everyone's advice. lol

Lorie

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Did you square it up before you added the borders? Don't worry if it doesn't match the dimensions listed in the tutorial. just make sure it's squared off as best you can. Does it look terribly wonky when you lay it out? If it does, and it were me, I'd rip the borders off and try to square it up. If it doesn't look too bad I'd leave it (that's a lot of ripping) and chalk it up to experience. Two inches isn't too too bad, especially for a first quilt.

My advise? Leave it. My first quilt is crooked, the seams don't match very well, and it's quilted terribly. I love it better than life itself.
    Pam in the Boneyard - Georgia expat in Cleveland Ohio. Howdy y'all!

If at first you don't succeed, try doing it the way your mom told you to in the first place

5. Thanks Jewel thanked for this post
    The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Hulamoon View Post