Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Machine Stitcher

Post Thanks / Like

Wink Lupus may have knocked me down but quilting has picked me back up!!!

Hey, I am new to quilting, new to this forum. New to all of it. But I will say this has been the most rewarding thing for me. I am disabled and have worked my whole life (till 2 years ago). I am one of those that would put in 50-60 hours a week. Even when I got sick I was still hitting those 50 hrs. Heck I would go do chemo at lunch, then come back to work that afternoon for as long as I could to keep from getting behind due to missing the next day (usually a friday and have the weekend to recover).

Stopping work was so difficult for me because I felt I was then giving in and letting lupus take me. And it was for quite a while. Then I found this. I am sometimes wondering if I found it or it found ME! But with God's help and family I couldnt do without, I was able to get setup with a sewing machine and even a great sewing room to do all my work. I watched tutorials for a month before giving a shot at it. Then I made my first quilt. I did the dresden that I learned watching Jenny's tutorial.

I am now working on learning how to freemotion. That is so fun now that I am getting the hang of it! I am just playing around with all of it. I feel like when I find the thing that really grabs me I will know it! Till 2 months ago I had never TOUCHED a sewing machine. Heck I had to have a good friend come and show me how to even thread the dang thing! Now I just love it so much. Even days that are really bad and I am having a hard time. I find a way to come in my sewing room and sew a little atleast. If not that, I will load up on tutorials!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	all finished up.jpg 
Views:	83 
Size:	75.9 KB 
ID:	9949

Thank you Jenny, I couldnt have done it without you~

Sincerely
    Erin, Mesquite TX
    aka nanasrcool

Designer Diva

Post Thanks / Like