Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default King size jelly roll quilt - Help!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Animal Print King Size Jelly Roll Quilt.JPG 
Views:	332 
Size:	158.8 KB 
ID:	92577
    I'm working on my very first KING size jelly roll race quilt. I followed Jean's YouTube Tutorial and her calculations and method of putting the top together were spot on. Here's my question though -- on all of my other jelly roll quilts (regular lap size), I have done the quilting myself by just machine stitching in the ditch. I would really like to do the same with this quilt but is that even possible on a quilt this big?? And if so, how do you do it??? I don't have a fancy schmancy machine, just my sweet little Singer. I don't have the $ to send it to a quilter so I really need to figure out how to do it myself. I have thought about hand quilting it, but I have NEVER done any type of hand quilting before, not even on something as small as a potholder so to take on a king size quilt as my first project kind of scares me, but at least I know that can be done, it would just take time. Then I was thinking of figuring out the tying knots method but am not sure if I would like how that looks and I've never done that before either. Here's my issue -- whatever I decide to do, I need to get started asap because this needs to be done by Christmas - yikes! I would appreciate any and all advice!! Thank you so much!

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: King size jelly roll quilt - Help!

Hi Sharon! Glad my tutorial helped you out to make this! Quilting it will be a challenge for sure, especially if your machine is small.