Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Grandma Nan from Canada

Hi everyone. My name is Nancy and I live in Kingston, Ontario, Canada. I have been reading the blog for awhile but have only recently joined. I am a retired nurse and have been quilting for just a year. I have always had quilting in my life (family) but didnt have the time. It was on my bucket list and last year when I retired, I bought myself and nice sewing machine and started taking some classes. Now I have 2 sewing machines; so that I have a travel/class machine that is lighter weight and easier to carry around.

I use quilting as dual therapy physically it is so relaxing and if that doesn't do the trick it is wonderful retail therapy. Of course, I LOVE QUILTING and buying fabric. Who knew there was so much beautiful material and so few hours in the day; but remember it is a form of therapy for me. I have been a crafter of some sort or another all my life, so recognizing my tendencies towards excess, I did make a pledge to only buy material when I was ready to start a new project. Well that soon became impractical as I felt I needed a stash so I had to buy some extra material and thus the beginning of my addiction . LOL.

I have 5 wonderful grandsons aged 1 to 9. Only the baby has his own quilt but Grandma Nan is working towards having a quilt for all the boys by Christmas. My newest venture is beginning on Monday. I am taking a class in hand stitching hexagons for a Grandmother's Flower Garden. I am not setting any time limit on this one but I love having some hand sewing as an easy take along kit for times you can't use a machine. It may take the rest of my life to make it but I don't care. I have seen some beautiful hexagon quilts and think it will be a fun ongoing long term project.