Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Thread: Pet Portraits

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Pet Portraits

We are very active with our local Animal Care & Control. My other half volunteers at the shelter and we open our home to dogs in need of fostering before they are ready to be adopted. Because I am a vet tech, we get most medical cases. I overdose these furry ones with affection and teach them that not all humans are bad and that they deserve to have a safe and warm place to live, food in their stomachs and to be loved unconditionally . Emotionally, I am unable to physically take them back to the shelter when it is time for them to be adopted. My other half takes them back and I stay home and hug my fur babies and cry! I know that I am only a bridge for them; my job is to get them ready for their furever homes!

Okay, i kind of stumbled off the path I was heading down! Every year, our Animal Care & Control holds a fund raiser during our major festival. It is called "Picture Your Pet". A local professional photographer donates his time and materials and pet owners can get photos of their pets for a donation to the shelter. We get pictures done every year. The pictures always have a theme and the dogs always have a bandana made special for the picture. This year, I made a necktie for my male Shepherd and a big bowed scarf for my girl shepherd. I made a bow tie for my Pomeranian. The first picture didn't turn out very well. The shepherds had no interest in sitting still for a picture. We decided we would get a picture of our Pommie by himself as he loves to pose for pictures. Hope these make you smile!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	67 
Size:	131.9 KB 
ID:	57110   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	75 
Size:	88.3 KB 
ID:	57111  

Not all wounds are so obvious. Walk gently in the lives of others - Unknown Author