Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shiny Thimble

Post Thanks / Like

Default stitch in the ditch vs FMQ

A lot of the patterns I find for FMQ also mention that they are great for fillers. I just finished a quilt top that has some pretty busy prints (the pattern is Surf Shop by "crazyoldladies" ... so the blocks are 12 "surfboards" that measure about 7x18 inches each, in 4 different designs (verticle piece down the middle of one, horizontal sash across another, two inverted "v's" on another so it sort of looks like a flip flop, and the last with just a flower applique." I'm still pretty new to quilting and am not sure how to choose the quilting pattern, or when it's better for the overall design and feel of the quilt to stitich in the ditch. I wish I could post a picture of the top here so someone could weigh in with suggestions but I don't know if that's possible. Oh, and in case it's relevant, the finished top is about 44" x 60" ... it's for a baby gift. So many of the FMQ disigns I find mention that they are great for "filler", but I don't really have much space on this top that doesn't already have a lot going on. Will these designs detract from the fabric patterns? Also, so many colors that I can't really find a thread color that will just blend in everywhere. Help please!

Prairie Pointer

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: stitch in the ditch vs FMQ

you could do the stitch in the ditch and then echo around within the inside...

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like