Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    4 Patch Pro

Post Thanks / Like

Smile Hello - Complete Novice here!!!

Hello Quilting Gurus...
    I am a newbie to the forum and to quilting... in fact I haven't even started quilting yet - but am getting VERY excited to start!!
    My mum has been encouraging me to have a go for ages now - but I've always been tooooo scared!! So I had a look at the Missouri Star You Tube tutorials and have just become more and more excited to have a go!!!

I have ordered some pretty fabric from a local store and am eagerly awaiting its arrival so that I can have a go over the Easter holidays ( I'm a teacher! ) ... so that's where I am on the quilting ability scale = nowhere!!!!

But thought I'd join the forum so I could pick all of your lovely experienced and not so experienced brains ... to start with I'm going to have a look around at what type of things I need to have in mind before I get going. I'm one of those who researches and prepares lots before any new venture!!!!!!!

Right now I have a sewing machine - muchos thread (because my mums a sewing guru!!!!) and eagerness!!!

Anyone want to tell me what else I need I'm ALL ears!!!!!!

Ciao for now.... X

9 Patch Princess

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Hello - Complete Novice here!!!

Welcome to the world of addicting quilting. I would recommend as surely others will, a rotary cutter and mat. Also an ironing surface and iron. You'll need some rulers, but can get them as you go for the projects you are working on. Lot's of similar threads on this forum answering this same question, just look around. You are in for alot of fun. Don't be scared. My mantra is that nothing is unfixable, just makes your work more personal and unique. If you are scared of making mistakes, you won't have fun doing it.

3. Thanks MissyRS thanked for this post
    Batting Beauty

Post Thanks / Like