Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Beginning Stitcher

Post Thanks / Like

Default New to quilting and new to this forum~

Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to quilting and just recently discovered this fabulous website and all their amazing deals. Before I even finished my first quilt, I found myself buying fabric for future projects. I'm excited to make my grandmother a quilt with this fabrc. I need to figure out a nice 10" bella solid to go with it. Its hard to choose =(

Anyways, I just recently got into quilting and I'm currently working on my first project which is a flannel rag quilt for my brother's first baby using the peachy keen flannel series in charm packs. Its a nice, easy project but i still seem to be making quite a few beginner's errors like seem allowance consistency and bunching. Hopefully it will be nice enough to give them and not something to keep for my cats.

Speaking of cats, I have four little balls of fur i take care of and my goal is to make at least one cat themed quilt for myself. I've been constantly combing new fabric selections hoping someone will come out with a new line that's feline inspired but i keep on coming up empty handed. I'm very picky when it comes to colors and patterns. My favorite all time fabric is Tammis Keefe's Contented Cats by Michael Miller

I've come here to this forum to find a community to talk quilts with and learn as much as i can from its veterans. Any and all advice and pointers will be much appreciated. I'm really just so excited to start this chapter of my life.

I'm originally from Detroit but moved to Houston a few years ago after getting engaged. I'm currently a studying Biotechnology at the University of Houston and will be graduating next year

My cats:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	283363_1906681513333_22466_n.jpg 
Views:	70 
Size:	64.3 KB 
ID:	34949

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like