Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Is washing once with color catchers enough?

I am new to not pre-washing, and I just made a quilt with red strips. I put 6 color catchers in the washer, I am sweating bullets hoping the red doesn't bleed onto the light gray!

Is one washing enough, or should I run it through the washer again with more color catchers before I dry it?
    Cathryn

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Is washing once with color catchers enough?

Hi Cathryn, I just put 1 color catcher in normal cold water wash and tumble dry my dad's RED bowling quilt. I also put in an ugly table cloth and the color catcher did a great job. Nothing ran on the other colors, but it's my first one... Sorry, hope someone with alot more quilt experience answers as well

*bumping up*
    Debbie and the cats KayCee (16), Lucky Streak (11), and gods gift Sandia (8)

RIP Bonnie (18) December 2014 We had 10 loving years before you went to see your previous Meow-Mom - tell her I love you too!

Spread Sunshine with every thought, word and deed.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

The most I ever used was 2 color catchers at a time and that was on a red, white and blue quilt. One had a small amount of red on it, the other had nothing. I washed the quilt again a couple weeks later with a pillowcase I had made to match. There was nothing on the color catcher that time.

I would say if yours have a lot of dye transfer on them to go ahead and wash the quilt before you dry it, just to be safe. If they are fairly clean or just lightly spotted, you are probably good to dry.
    K is for Karen .....................Cremation - My last hope for a smokin' hot body.

Before you speak,
    T - is it TRUE?
    H - is it HELPFUL?
    I - is it INSPIRING?
    N - is it NECESSARY?
    K - is it KIND?

Check my User Notes.

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like