Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Why I've been gone so long / health issues.

I suppose I shouldn't be ashamed to share what my particular illness is...yet I am.

And don't worry, I'm NOT looking for sympathy (Lord knows I have enough of that from my family and friends), I just am looking for understanding, and possibly to improve things for someone in your life that may have major depression...knowledge is power.

I suffer from MDD (Major Depressive Disorder). I've been fighting this battle for 8 years...every since I went through my cancer treatment for thyroid cancer. For some reason, depression took ahold of me and won't let go. It's a tough, tough adversary.

I have been quite badly depressed for the past few months...unable to do normal activities of daily living. Finally last week I kind of hit a wall, and in my skewed thinking, felt that suicide was my only answer. I have been trained enough in therapy (2x per week with a psychologist) to know that when my thoughts turn that dark I need to get help, for I cannot trust my own thinking. So I called my psychologist, she immediately sent me to the hospital (psych ward) and I spent a leisurely week there (LOL). It has turned out very well though, as my psychiatrist started me on a new med, and within two days I was feeling MUCH better. I was discharged on Friday.

I will start going to day therapy for depressed people starting this week...Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. I can't say that I'm overjoyed to be going...but I want so badly to get back to where I was 8 years ago, feeling healthy and whole, that I am going to grab on with both hands.

Anyway, sorry to share so much personal stuff, but I felt since you all are so supportive, it wouldn't hurt to share a bit of what I'm struggling with. I hope I haven't offended anyone, if I have, then I am sorry.

Love, Gayle

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like