Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Rotary Pro

Post Thanks / Like

Default Beginner block for a jelly roll and charm pack?

Hello!

So I am brand new to quilting. I have done 1 quilt, currently working a rag quilt for my friend who just had a baby. I would love to make a good sized throw and was going to do the fence rail. I also have a charm pack that I would like to incorporate. It is the Moda school days (I just love the coziness of the colors).

Any suggestions? FWIW, I LOVE the scrappy look...

TIA, Stacey

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Beginner block for a jelly roll and charm pack?

I am not new to quilting, but am having the same dilema you are having. I, too, have a jelly roll and a charm pack and was wondering what to do with them. I was thinking about surrounding each charm with a solid color, and then surrounding that square with the jelly roll. I am working on something else right now, so I don't know when I would get started on this. Please post pictures as you finish quilts. We all love to see them.
    Joyce "She who dies with the most fabric wins!!"

The Guild President

Post Thanks / Like

You can make a framed square, which is one of my favorites! All you do is pair a charm with a strip. Cut 2 - 5" strips and 2 - 9" strips. Attach the 5" strips on either side of the charm, then put the longer strips on top and bottom. I'm putting a pic here of a quilt I made using one charm and one jelly roll. I had enough left overs to make two patchwork bags as well.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VID01392.jpg 
Views:	5406 
Size:	113.6 KB 
ID:	22589
    Come by and see what I'm up to on my blog...
    Summer Lee Quilts

Missouri Star

Post Thanks / Like