365 Challenge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Half square triangles

I've never done these before so the blocks with all these little triangles are scaring me a bit. What's your best method to get accurate triangles. There's not much wiggle room on these tiny blocks.

I would only attempt these tiny HST and QST with a ruler. I recommend Deb Tucker's, Tucker Trimmer. You make the blocks slightly oversized and then trim them to precise measurements.

You will need the Tucker Trimmer I (1/2 and whole cuts) the most. Try that one and if you like it, get the Tucker Trimmer III (1/4 and 3/4 cuts).

Comment

I never heard of that tool. I will look it up. I find it helps to keep reminding myself that even the tiniest pieced need an accurate 1/4 inch seam.

Comment

For me the best tool to square up half square triangles is the block-loc ruler: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cVYUQVUrG2Y
        I know the ruler is a bit expensiev, but ist absolutly werth ist Price. I dont know how to manage all These Little tiny pieces without it

Comment

You are so right Renate. I have the BlocLoc ruler (4 1/2" size) & it's made the squaring up of those teeny tiny HST so easy. I'm going to buy the 2 1/2" one too.
          May the road rise up to meet you...
          May the wind be always at your back...
          May you be in Heaven a half hour before the Devil knows you're dead...
          Patt :icon_wave:

Comment

for me the best is the 6 1/2 because it gives me more possibility. M* has it available. I think I will buy the one for flying geese too, but will decide at the Festival of quilt in Birmingham, which I visit this August.

Comment

I'm impressed with the BlocLoc ruler that you're talking about. I hadn't heard of it and just watched the video. How easy is that!!! Certainly stops the slipping and sliding that can happen with an ordinary ruler. I can get one through a local supplier. Good investment.

Comment