Hi Guest, Welcome to the quilting forums, register now —or—

Tab Content
No More Results
About mavian

Basic Information

About mavian
I am a 61 year old Canuck Hockeypuck. I live 1 hour North of the 49th parallel, at the Longitudinal Centre of Canada. This year, 2013 - 2014 , we had 7 months of Winter. I have lived in Winnipeg, Manitoba all of my life. Lots of clean air and water up here. Yes, sometimes we are the coldest place on Earth, just every once in a while.

It is my sister's birthday today. I was telling my daughter, I have 2 daughters, about the life changing experience I had with my sister.

She is 2 years older than me, when I was in grade 5 she was in grade 7 and was in Home Ec class. Back then the first project was an apron. She was at our mum's sewing machine working on something, I was watching, and couldn't tell how the two threads got to the same place. Well, she showed me how to pull up the bobbin thread, and that was it.

That changed my life, I was able to do my own sewing, and make my own clothes, as I said, a life changing experience. My Mother laughed when I was telling her this story last week. When I got to grade 7 Home Ec, to make my apron, I was wearing dresses I had sewn myself.

I haven't done any sewing in the last 10 years, but that hasn't stopped me from buying fabric.

I have joined a Quilting Group this spring, my younger daughter and I go together, we have laterally thousands of miters of fabric to choose from, and are having a grand time together.


Total Posts
Total Posts
Posts Per Day
General Information
Last Activity
November 14th, 2014 09:50 AM
Join Date
August 6th, 2014
No results to show...