Machine Embroidery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stabilizer Advice

I have a 9X9 X 9X9 size hoop and would like to purchase Tearaway stabilizer. When I purchased my Janome 400e the supplier sent me a roll of Floriani Tearaway. Now it's my turn to buy some. What brand, supplier, roll or sheets, do you all buy? Looking for the best price and correct size for my hoop.
    I will be buying Cutaway and Water Soluble as well. Do you use the same brand or do you find you have favorite brands for each stabilizer you use.
    In addition, I am using Thread Art polyester embroidery thread. Do any of you use Rayon? What brand thread do you use?
    Since I am very new to machine embroidery I have many questions. Thank you in advance for your patience and assistance.

I've been buying from AllStitch.net and had really good results with their products and service. I like them because the price is cheap, but the product isn't. Plus, they have stabilizer sheets. I hate buying it on rolls and having to deal with the stabilizer curling when I try to hoop.

For thread, I use MetroEmb.com thread. It's polyester too. My machine likes it as well.

Comment

I purchase rolls of stabilizer from Amazon for my larger hoops, more economical. I also use Sulky which I usually purchase with a coupon at Joann's. Thread Art worked for me but only at slower speeds. I like Hemingworth, Sulky, Guttermann threads, also the Maderia rayons for special projects Check out this web site and sign up for the newsletter, lots of info and projects, they just finished a series on stabilizers which you will find there .http://www.quilterblogs.com/tag/janome/
      sigpic

Comment

Welcome to the world of Embroidery! It's a fun and challenging hobby.