5. Owl Quilt - Quilt & Bind
    6. Purple Piping Quilt - Quilt & Bind
    7. Teal & Gold Bird Quilt - Quilt & Bind
    8. I Spy Quilt - Quilt & Bind
    9. WSQG QW20 Challenge Quilt - Piece, Quilt, Bind & Embellish
    10. Black & Orange Quilt - Finish Appliqué, Quilt & Bind
    11. Poppy Quilt - Quilt & Bind
    12. WSQG Mystery Quilt - Piece, Quilt & Bind

As you can see from my list I seem to be able to get the quilts pieced but have difficulty getting them quilted. I get stuck when it comes to the quilting because I’m afraid I’ll ruin the top. I’m a total novice when it comes to the actual quilting. I know that by doing I’ll gain more confidence & get better but taking the leap is difficult.

Join the club!!!

Comment

Try something small. You know the blocks that backed the clear vinyl zippered pouches you made? Something like that size.
      I putzed around with that size and made hot pads, and cushion thingies for between my serving bowls & platters. Nobody will see them, they are somewhat useful, and I got practice both straight line and free motion quilting. Most of them I didn't even bother to bind! I used weird fabrics that I had inherited and made patterns to go over them.
      It helped a lot to build confidence. I'm sure you will do just fine!
      Be who you are and say what you feel
      because those who mind don't matter,
      and those who matter don't mind. - Dr. Seuss

http://www.toggpine.wordpress.com

Comment

I shouldn’t give advice, because my FMQ skills leave much too be desired. But I am better than I was 2 years ago. I like walking foot quilting, and can do straightish and wavy lines well enough to please me. I try to make a potholder every quilt and I experiment on that before venturing on quilt. It gives me a bit of confidence. Also I have a quilting call my picnic quilt that has huge areas that I experiment with FMQ. It is on my list to finish.. the Fmq is so bad on it, though and so random ...

Comment