Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

WIP 9/29/2016 Progressing through the year, October already? Fall is a time for fresh starts.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WIP 9/29/2016 Progressing through the year, October already? Fall is a time for fresh starts.

I'm not usually the one who starts this thread but I know that we need a fresh start this week!

It is officially time for fall, the best time of year to do "spring cleaning" and that time of year when newly sharpened pencils and the smell of a fresh box of 64 Crayolas and a pad of construction paper bring the promise of adventure and creativity. So what are you getting creative about this week? What sparks your imagination and gets the wheels turning?

I've been in a whirlwind of late summer activity, as I am a teacher this is pretty normal at the start of our school year, as I get to know new colleagues, new administration, new courses, and most importantly new students. So my creative and crafty side have been on the back burner for too long. I went back to a group started in January about all the projects we wish we would make this year. It's kind of sad how many active posts there were in January and how radio silenced the group is now. Where did the gusto go? I think it sizzled up in summer and went on vacation... time to reign it back in and get things done.

This week I will finish piecing my pumpkin applique wall hanging. I may or may not get it basted and quilted, but there will be a top. I want to enjoy it in the fall, and with October the 1st being Monday, the clock is ticking.

Yes, the pumpkins have been on my to-do list since January, to be honest for several years, but maybe I'm the only nut holding myself to promises I made to myself 10 months ago.

If all the ambition of the new year fizzled out, why not give yourself a fresh start in the fall? Sharpen the pencils, crack open the crayons, smell the promise of fun and creativity, and hop to it!