Best Pattern for Silk Velvet?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Pattern for Silk Velvet?

I was gifted more than 10 yards of silk velvet, in almost a dozen colors, ranging between 1/2yd to about a full yard. I think I'd really like to try my hand at making it into a quilt.
    IMG-6997.jpg

Any suggestions on which block patterns (and/or block size) might work best with silk velvet? What could I use as a backing fabric?

Thanks, in advance.

Re: Best Pattern for Silk Velvet?

Beautiful fabrics, I think I would just cut it into random squares or rectangles and put it back together with black sashing sort of Mondrian like. I probably would back it with minkee and not use batting. Being silk it will require very gentle hand washing. I would also probably hand quilt it.

Comment

The fabrics are so beautiful! I've never worked with it before, so I wouldn't have an idea where to start. I love Claire's idea!
      Katrina

“Nothing can dim the light which shines from within.”
      ― Maya Angelou

Comment

Your new silk velvets are GORGEOUS! What a treasure.

I believe that Crazy Quilts were originally done with velvet fabrics. You might want to read about some of the history of that pattern. One thought that comes to mind is that velvet can be stretchy, so a lightweight stabilizer might help you piece your beautiful new velvets.
        Toni ... If I keep sewing long enough, will they make their own dinner?

Comment

Crazy quilt with lots of lace and ribbon added, with hand embroidery. Man I WISH!
          TRUTH is seldom appreciated, unless you happen to agree with it. When you don't agree, you just call it rude.

Comment