Need help cutting yardage please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help cutting yardage please

Hello, I need to cut nearly 3 yards of fabric into strips. It is both too wide and too long for my cutting board by far. Can someone please suggest a good tutorial for the best method of squaring up and cutting yardage? I'm a newbie to quilting and have only used smaller cuts until now. Bit scared of the yardage and would like to see someone do it. Thanks.

Re: Need help cutting yardage please

I usually fold long yardage in half, lining up the fabric with the lines on the mat. Then make a clean cut to have a straight cut. Then I use the lines on the ruler to make my strips.
    Katrina

“Nothing can dim the light which shines from within.”
    ― Maya Angelou

Comment

same way I do it.
      Walk in peace with the Lord by your side.
      Terry

Comment

I would tear the fabrics with the grain. You will get perfect strips the full length of three yards.
        Blogging ahead.....research in quilting and sewing with a dab of cooking/recipes too.

https://myquiltprojects.wordpress.com/

https://thecookbookproject.wordpress.com/

Comment

This may help:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoBKOv3Azzw
          Michele

to the world you may be one person, but to one person you may be the world...

Comment

Welcome to MSQC Moira!
            I have this video in my quilting tutorials and when I first started quilting I did use this method...it's a great method to learn!

Originally posted by chelea View Post
            Jacqueline ( Sugar ) Dorer-Russell
            http:\\www.sugarssmilinpapercrafts.BlogSpot.com

"I miss the me I was when you were here"

Comment

Originally posted by Deegles View Post
              I would tear the fabrics with the grain. You will get perfect strips the full length of three yards.