border sizes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

border sizes

Altho I have been sewing for over 60 years, I am new to quilting and its techniques and tools, and frankly am somewhat overwhelmed by the math involved! I want to make a Christmas table runner finished at approximately 16" x 40" with one or two smaller borders, but am unsure about the ratios for a border or borders. Is there some standard or formula that people use to determine the width of multiple borders so they look proportional and actually add to the beauty of the runner rather than overwhelming it? I know how individualized people's tastes are, and realize that I can make whatever suits my fancy, but I have seen some beautiful runners and table toppers that were, in my opinion, spoiled by the choices of border width. Can anyone provide me with a little guidance?Guess I am just an old dog attempting to learn new tricks too late in life!

Re: border sizes

Well hello Suz and welcome to the forum. Quilting is like a big ole world of new math to me too. I wish I had the answer but alas I struggle too. Usually my borders are to make a quilt bigger faster and sometimes I get lucky and the borders do compliment too!

Comment

That's one of those "personal preference" things. What looks good to you is what you should use. There really aren't RULES in quilting, any more that RULES make a Picasso
      TRUTH is seldom appreciated, unless you happen to agree with it. When you don't agree, you just call it rude.

Comment

Hi SueZQ, welcome to the forum. As mentioned earlier, there are no rules.

If I wanted a topper finished to the size you mentioned, I would have three 12 1/2" blocks, with 2 1/2" sashing between, and 2 1/2" border. Finished it should measure about 16 x 40.