Confession and a Craft felt question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confession and a Craft felt question

I haven't touched my sewing machine in many months. I've been thinking about just selling all of my sewing/quilting stuff because of this. I'm attempting one last project to see if I can make it turn out half way decent. If not, then I think I'll call it quits. It's not that I don't like quilting, it's just that I'm not very good at it. The plan was to make stuff to sell at craft shows, or ebay/etsy, for extra money. But it takes me so long to make just one small project and most of the time it doesn't turn out good enough to sell. I recently tried to make the 10 minute table runner (Jean Truelove's youtube version) and was a mess (I used fabric that I didn't care for, so no real loss there). I've spent a ton of money on fabric through the years and I just don't feel like I can make anything worth even getting half of my money back now. I've already started putting fabric/notions that I know I won't use on ebay, but I can't help but wonder if I should just get rid of it all now and be done with it.

So with all that said:

I want to add felt (used Accuquilt's fowl die to cut the shapes out) to a wall hanging that I'm working on, but I don't know if I can machine stitch it down or do I have to hand sew it on (I hate hand sewing). Should I fuse it down first? One color of the felt is thicker than the other, but they came from the same package, so I don't know if that's going to affect anything.

The top part is mostly venting, so no real need to respond to that, I'd just like to know about the felt (or should I even use it?). Thanks.
    Attached Files
    Live, Learn, Sew!

Re: Confession and a Craft felt question

I've never worked with felt, so no help there, but I wanted to say...love your chickens & eggs. Very cute wall hanging.

Comment