Binding a scalloped edge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Binding a scalloped edge

This is my first time in doing a scalloped border on a quilt. I used Eleanor Burns template and actually came out pretty good. So I have my borders marked now. I have not cut the borders YET as I'm feeling a little intimidated about what is to come next. That something is called BIAS BINDING. Yikes!! Now I do know how to cut on the bias but I don't know about sewing the binding to a scalloped border. I remember doing a round tablerunner which I struggled sewing on the bias binding. I've checked out tutorials and they don't make it look any easier either. My weakness is no confidence. Has anyone done a bias binding on a scalloped border? One tutorial says not to cut the borders until the binding is sewing on. I'm leaning more and more on straight borders. This quilt pattern calls for a scalloped border and it does look very nice. Attached is a picture of my unfinished quilt. Thank you! Oh, the pattern is Thyme With Friends.

P1010090.JPG
    P1010091.JPG
    sigpicLinda :icon_wave:

Re: Binding a scalloped edge

Yes I know the feeling! I made scalloped borders using the scallops and vines template from Quilt in a Day. It seems very weird I know to attach the binding and then trim after but I think the reason for that is so you can make adjustments if needed, that gives you a little wiggle room. It really was not as hard as I thought it would be and turned out fine. I also found that the binding goes on much smoother if you don't pin it down first. I just line it up where it needs to go and stop about every four inches and line another section up. (I also don't pin regular binding, just lay it to the edge and stitch). Go a little slower on the V part of the scallop to get a nice curve. I know you can do this!!!
    Last edited by jjkaiser; December 19, 2017, 12:28 PM.

Comment