Thread and batting for hand quilting?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thread and batting for hand quilting?

I pieced a quilt top fur my cousin because she wants to hand quilt it. She wants the traditional look, small stitches that barely show. What batting and thread should she use? I wasn’t sure if the batting and thread requirements are difference for hand quilting versus machine quilting.
    Lisa

Re: Thread and batting for hand quilting?

I have been teaching Hawaiian quilting since 1976. We use polyester low loft batting and Coats and Clark 100 cotton quilting thread, and size 9 John James quilting (betweens) needles. If I use a smaller needle I snap them in half, so I stick with the 9. Warm and natural is harder to hand quilt through and also leaves you with a flat quilt. I prefer my quilts to have some puff between rows and stitches.[ATTACH=CONFIG]148135[/ATTAC Quilt pic is of a Dresden plate that I was in process of hand quilting.H]
    Attached Files

Comment

It all depends on how you want it to look. If you, like surfergirl, want the loft, use polyester. If you're looking for an old fashion look (wrinkly) use cotton or a cotton blend. There are also wool, bamboo, etc. lots (almost too many) of choices. There area also lofts for cotton. I use a low-mid loft, cause I like those small stitches and a high loft is harder (but not impossible) to quilt through.

This may help:
      https://www.alderavenuequilting.com/...-batting-chart

As for needles, the smaller the number (between) the finer the needle. I, years ago, used a 12. I can no longer see the eye, so I use a 10; that could change as I keep getting older.....rats!

There is also a thread to use for hand quilting. Lots of brands. Some people also "wax" their thread (special for hand quilting).

Hopefully your cousin has some experience and she can easily make the right choices for you both.

Happy quilting!

Comment