Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you put bindings on your quilts with a walking foot?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do you put bindings on your quilts with a walking foot?

Recently, I've seen posts that a lot of quilters use a walking foot to put on quilt bindings. I've never used mine for this and just wondering if there is an advantage to doing it this way, and if everyone else does this and I just now got the memo.

Re: Do you put bindings on your quilts with a walking foot?

I have been using my walking foot for several years to machine stitch bindings on. It's so much faster & easier. I think mach. stitching holds up so much better than hand hemming, esp. if it's a baby or child's quilt that will get washed frequently. I sew the folded binding strips on the front, then turn the binding to the back. If you use a sewing gauge to measure exactly all the way around, you can sew SITD on the front & it will catch it on the back. I've done it that way for so long I rarely have to fix any spots on the back. Maybe on a corner or two sometimes.

Comment

I do. It pulls all the layers thru so much more evenly than a regular pressure foot.

Comment

I sew on my bindings with a 1/4 compensating foot. The quilt just runs smoothly long the edge.
        Diana Grey

Comment

I've used the walking foot and even the all purpose foot.
          Tracie

Comment

I do not use a walking foot to attach the binding because I already have the three layers already stitched together right at the outside edge. This is because I almost always do my own quilting, and the first step I always take is to quilt the three layers together right at the outside edge to stabilize it. I do usually use my open toe walking foot to stitch the three layers together with a very large stitch length, like 3.5 or even 4. I stitch approx 1/8" in from the edge, so these big stitches are covered by the binding.