Anthropologie-type Flanged/Ruffled Quilt Binding

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anthropologie-type Flanged/Ruffled Quilt Binding

Hi all! Newbie here. Trying to incorporate an heirloom cribskirt ruffle into the binding for my baby quilt, and am having trouble finding a tutorial on how to do so. Ideally, I would have it end up looking like this style of binding that Anthropologie uses on their quilts (see example listing here), but I cannot figure out how they do this. If any of you know how this is done (or something similar), please let me know!

Quilt edging 2.jpeg

Quilt edging.jpeg

Re: Anthropologie-type Flanged/Ruffled Quilt Binding

Okay it appears to be a very lightly ruffle added to their quilts Lots of videos showing how to do a ruffle binding on google and utube. At first glance they took their ruffle and sewed it to the back of the quilt front raw sides together then ironed it to face out once quilted they did a simple fold in of the backing turning it under and stitched the front and the back together going thru the layers sandwiching it together. Sorry I know my poor over tired brain is not explaining that well.
    Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without.

Comment

Hmmm I think I'm following you! Do you mean the front of the quilt front though raw sides together? I'm not seeing how if it was sewn to the back of the quilt front, the seam allowance wouldn't face out on the front of the quilt. And would the stitching through the layers at the end when the back's folded over the batting need to be done by hand?

Also, do you know how they would do the mitred edges? I'm thinking they sewed the ruffle in 4 pieces to all 4 sides separately, unfolding at the edges and sewing them together diagonally, then trimming and folding back in, but that seems like it might be overly complicating things.

Comment