The Prewash Debate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The Prewash Debate

Hello everyone in the quilting community. I'm new here and am from Indiana.

I recently purchased the book "Quilting For Dummies" and I've been reading and studying it very carefully. In the beginning chapters it talks about prewashing all fabrics because of sizing and bleeding. While I'm still learning some of the quilting lingo as well, I understood up until I washed my precut strips that I just recently bought.

I have been in tears off and on all day because I prewashed precut strips. They frayed and tangled and it's a mess I cannot undo. I have some quilter's cotton I was planning to use for backing fabric and now I'm wondering if I should even wash that. Now I'm questioning whether or not I even bought the right fabric. I thought I was understanding quilting.

Back to my original issue... I was wondering what the more experienced quilters, like yourselves , think about prewashing precuts and yardage? I'm afraid to wash fabrics again because of this experience, but I don't want to put lots of time into making an entire quilt, assuming I can get that far, and have it fall apart the first time in the washer.

Please, any tips, suggestions, or even sharing your prewashing stories are very much appreciated.

Re: The Prewash Debate

ugh I'm crying for you and your fabric!!

what I do:

*NEVER* prewash precuts...
    *NEVER* prewash yardage...
    *NEVER* prewash anything...

LOL...

you will see different trains of thought on this subject...basically I haven't heard of anyone washing pre-cuts due to the nature of the beast. yardages I know of people who wash and don't wash...it's a preference. I don't wash anything and just use color catchers in my laundry when I wash my quilts after I finish them.
    Michele

Comment

Thank you for your reply shell.scraps!