Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advise on batting for a very warm lap quilt-help please!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advise on batting for a very warm lap quilt-help please!

Hi quilters! I'm very new to sewing and even newer to quilting. I made one light quilt which is great as a summer throw. I know, that sounds silly but I've always been the coldest one in the room. Anyway, I want to make another quilt now. I have a simple pattern but I would like it to to be a warm winter quilt-lap quilt really, 46" x 60". I've read a lot and watched youtubes and blogs. And lurked here, reading many posts. But I haven't found the answer to my question.

I'd like to know what more experienced home quilters think about using two layers of batting for a very warm quilt. I want to finish the quilt as well so no long arm. I had a few ideas for batting-perhaps wool batting and also a layer of soft and warm or even the wool layer sandwiched between two layers of Mountain Mist which is very light. I've also seen various suggestions of a blanket sewed in which I would think is similar to wool batting (?)

I have a home sewing machine, suitable for some quilting, although I don't really know the limits of it yet. It's a Brother SE400 that I received Christmas before last-the beginning of my sewing hobby. So far, it's been quite the little work horse.

Any suggestions? Yes, I really do want a very warm lap quilt for snuggling on the sofa. I have the coldest feet and legs of anyone I know! Any and all suggestions welcome! Thanks.

Re: Advise on batting for a very warm lap quilt-help please!

I just looked at the specs on your machine: http://www.brother-usa.com/homesewin...roductID=SE400

I'm not sure your throat space is big enough to accommodate quilting even a small lap quilt with two plus layers of batting. Have your thought about making a rag quilt or a quilt as you go? You quilt small sections then put them together.