hand quilting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

hand quilting

Since I have always wanted a quilt, I figured I would make myself one. I also have decided I would machine piece one and hand quilt it. Why? well, because I am no good at FMQ. But, I want to be able to do designs on the quilt and make it more homey , more traditional. I know more traditional would mean doing the whole quilt by hand, however, I like using the machine for piecing.

I am new to quilting. I have done a couple smaller projects but nothing serious. I am not going for stitches per inch ( although that would be nice), I am looking for consistency. I get my top stitches looking pretty good and look at the bottom and see how tiny they are and sometimes didn't catch the fabric. So, I have been working on that. I am going to be doing a lot of practicing before I hand quilt the "patch" quilt I am making ( just 5 1/2" blocks sewn together to make a baby quilt).

I do have aunt becky and a nice lap hoop. thanks to my wonderful husband. I was reading somewhere that is takes about 20 hours of practice to get a rhythm and consistency when hand quilting. I am willing to put in the time as I really want to learn to hand quilt. Have any of you hand quilters heard of that? As a guesstimate how many hours would you say you practiced before starting your first hand quilted quilt? Just thought it would be a fun question and to let you know a bit about this newbie.

Re: hand quilting

I have no clue how many hours but I just dove right in because I can't machine quilt (a big quilt) either. Small projects I can machine quilt. I think it took a little while to get the rocking method down pat.

Welcome from Canada.
    Blessed are the children of the piecemakers for they shall inherit the quilts!

Comment