New to this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to this

I am new to quilting, but not to sewing. I have watched many tutorials by Jenny, and have actually completed a small quilt.......but I have a question........before the final stage, the quilt is puffy and soft, then it seems that all that stitching 'flattens' it. I understand the 'art of quilting' but wouldn't the quilt be better left puffy?

Re: New to this

MargaretP...it is personal preference on how much quilting is done in a quilt. It determines how intricate you want the quilt to be. The more stitching, the more stiff and heavy the quilt becomes. It takes practice to determine your skill level and how you want the quilt to look and feel!

Welcome to the forum, sweetie!
    Sherri

"Don't let someone else's ugly spoil your beautiful. " Thanks, Bubby!!!!!!

Comment

It will puff up a little and soften after washing. If the quilting is close it will make the work flatter; spacier quilting will make it less flat. It depends on your preference.

Welcome to the forum!

Comment

Welcome to the forum from Missouri.

Some quilters prefer thin quilts so we usually use thin cotton batting.....others like puffy quilts and they use polyester batting and leave a little more space between the actual quilting. Each quilt batting that you buy will tell you on the package what the maximum amount of space between quilting can be. It's a wonderful adventure......
        sigpicwww.whisperofrose.blogspot.com

Scottie Mom Barb

Comment

Welcome to the forum
          It really is allllll about preference! When I first started quilting, I only used 100% cotton batting because I do like thin quilts, now I'm venturing into blends because of the 'poof' factor - so many quilting ideas - so little time
          For wall hanging quilts, I love the look of more quilting - like a piece of art. For baby quilts, less quilting, so it stays snuggly. It's all up to you!

Comment