Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I messed up on cutting my squares - some are too small...others are almost right.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I messed up on cutting my squares - some are too small...others are almost right.

Hi everyone,

I am finally starting on my baby-to-be's crib quilt. I decided on an "easy" project using FQs. Basically, you take 7 FQs and cut them into 8.5" squares. Then you save the scraps and another FQ for binding. Well, I used a rotary cutter, ruler, and mat to cut the squares. I still ended up with uneven squares - some are a little smaller than 8.5 inches on certain sides.

It says to use a 1/4" seam allowance to piece these together.

What would you do? I am okay with it not being perfect, but is this going to turn into a huge problem?

I am a novice. Thank you in advance!

Re: I messed up on cutting my squares - some are too small...others are almost right.

Welcome to the forum and the world of quilting !

No worries - you can make this work! I would recommend finding the smallest of your squares, square it up and then trim down all of your other squares to be that same size.

Comment

Re: I messed up on cutting my squares - some are too small...others are almost right.

This is what I find the horrible thing about quilting...it involves precise measuring and cutting. Yes, your measurements being off will affect the whole thing. What I would do and I am not an expert at all, but what I would do is...make a 7 and 3/4 inch square on cardboard or a template-making thin mylar (I got mine at from Jo-Ann Fabrics), and with a removable marking pen, draw around it into the center of the blocks you cut. That line will be your new seam line. But wait for the expert quilters to give you answers as I think they'll know better than me!

Comment