Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Both top and bobbin threads showing on BOTH sides of quilt

Hi,

I'm new to quilting (and sewing), and I'm trying to use two different threads (cream in the top and brown in the bobbin) on a quilt, and I can't seem to find the correct tension setting so that neither thread shows through the other side. The best I've been able to achieve is to have the top thread mostly cream with just a tiny dot of brown here and there, and bits of cream dots on the back. I've adjusted both the bobbin and top thread dials repeatedly (one at a time, recording each test as I go); I've cleaned the machine as best I know how, and I've re-threaded everything a million times. If one side is right, the other is always wrong. What do I do?

Alisha

Re: Both top and bobbin threads showing on BOTH sides of quilt

First its not you. It is almost impossible to have either the top or bottom thread show occasionally. It should not show consistently. If it does then you have two choices. Use a thicker batting so you have more depth to hide where the thread meets, or use the same color thread on both the top and the bottom.
    Stash Treasure Acquisitions Beyond Life Expectancy. My stash keeps me STABLE, oh yeah.... and dark chocolate.

Comment

Once the quilt is washed most of those little imperfections you see now will disappear!
      Sometimes, when there's a raging fire,
      it's best not to try to put it out with gasoline.

"...pal carajo con la negatividad..."

Comment

Hi Alisha and Welcome

Jeannette

Comment

I agree with the idea of the washing "puffing" the threads to the right sides. I find I have to decide which look I can live with until I finish and can wash or at least dryer fluff it.
          Be who you are and say what you feel
          because those who mind don't matter,
          and those who matter don't mind. - Dr. Seuss

http://www.toggpine.wordpress.com

Comment