Recommendations for quilting an art quit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommendations for quilting an art quit

I'd like say up front that I am NOT an artist. However, I really love the painting Starry Night by Vincent VanGogh. So I decided it might be fun to copy it in fabric, even though I have never done landscape applique, and probably did many things wrong. I have a couple of questions:

1) I pieced and bonded the elements in units and then bonded them onto a navy backing. As a result, in some places there are upwards of 4 layers that I will need to sew through. Are there any hints that anyone can give me on thread and needle selection? I thought I'd try to duplicate many of the paint lines you see in the painting.

2) Should I do any stitching to secure the pieces before I layer and start quilting? Perhaps some satin stitching in certain places to emphasize the borders between different sections.

3) Would you apply a border and if so, which do you-all prefer. The navy border or the grey one?

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Starry Night Blue Border.jpgStarry Night Grey Border.jpg
    Attached Files

Re: Recommendations for quilting an art quit

That's really cool! I don't have advice. I'm just used to doing regular applique. I like the grey, it seems to make a frame more than the navy.
    🌺 Lorie

Comment

That is gorgeous. Can you please give some more details so we can better answer your questions. Firstly how did you "bond" the fabric together? Please be as specific as possible as that will effect thread and needle recommendation. When you say there are four layers to sew through in some places is that two layers of fabric and two layers of bonding material or four layers of fabric and four layers of bonding material?

What kind of sewing machine will you be using and will you be using a walking foot or doing free motion quilting?